26 Apr 2018

Listen to MIEN live session today

Ahead of Saturday's show at Levitation Festival – MIEN are going to be on KUTX today for a live session and interview at 3pm (CST) which is 9pm UK time...

Tune in here: KUTX


Raven Sings the Blues say some words on Lay Llamas new single and their Negra Branca remix

They say:

On the first single from his global psychedelic stewpot of an album, “Silver Sun,” Nicola Giunta draped the German Progressive paradigm in shades of late ‘90s electronic psych, dredging up allusions to The Beta Band and Clinic. On the album’s second point of entry, “Holy Worms,” he embraces a multicultural funk that puts him in leagues with his labelmates in Goat, pinning a tangle of polyrhythms to a ‘70s afrofunk guitar line and a vocal workout that stretches through Talking Heads territory, but gets caught short in a haze of narcotic bliss.

This second single, in its most digital of forms, also happens to come with a standout flip side that digests the original version of “Silver Sun” and mangles it into a completely different animal. Remixed by Gnod’s Marlene Ribiero masquerading as Negra Branca, the “Red Sun Remix” shaves off Giunta’s psych-pop romp appeal and delves darker, amping up the rhythms until they pound at the eardrum. Ribiero also brings in a chorus of female vocals to replace Giunta’s originals. They breathe the mantra “Red Sun, Green Sun” in calming contrast to the panic attack psych bubbling throughout her version and it becomes an oracle of calm inside a virtual storm of a track.

She shaves down the acidic sax solo that adorned Lay Llamas original, saving only a few panicked bleats to whinny away over the chaotic atmosphere brewing below. The reconfiguration slides Giunta into a much more lysergic territory gnashing Krautrock’s teeth on a mash of dub and gospel with a free jazz storm threatening in the distance. Great remixes can often lay the original to waste, but here Negra Blanca simply prove that while the pop sheen adorning Lay Llamas new album is welcome, sometimes you gotta go deep into the cave to find the psychedelic heart. 

See the piece here: RSTB


GNOD Euro tour poster

GNOD are heading out on tour:

28 APRIL Liverpool / Wrong Festival / UK
29 APRIL Newcastle / The Cluny / UK
30 APRIL Glasgow / Broadcast / UK
01 MAY Hull / Adelphi / UK
02 MAY Manchester / Band on the Wall / UK
03 MAY  Sheffield / Picture House Social / UK
04 MAY  Brighton / Hope and Ruin / UK
05 MAY  Nijmegen / Doornroosje / Netherlands
06 MAY  Bruxelles / Magasin 4 / Belgium
08 MAY  Lille / La Malterie / France
09 MAY  Tilburg / 013 / Hall Of Fame / Netherlands

10 MAY  Utrecht / dB’s / Netherlands
11 MAY  Diksmuide / 4AD / Belgium
12 MAY Paris / Espace B France
13 MAY London / Moth Club / UK (ALBUM LAUNCH)


Poster for Hey Colossus / Anthroprophh London show revealed

Tickets from here: Baba Yaga's Hut


Backseat Mafia say some words about Lay Llamas track Holy Worms

They say:

Italians Lay Llamas last month announced that they were back with a new LP, Thuban, to be released on 15th June on Rocket Recordings. This week they have revealed the video for the second single to be taken from the album, ‘Holy Worms’.

The catchy track features all the elements you would want from a Lay Llamas track, catchy atonal percussion, edgy effected lyrics and intoxicating riffs that will entrance. For those unfamiliar with the band, in a nutshell, this is who they are.

See the piece here: Backseat Mafia


White Lodge reviews Rocket Twenty Weekender

It reads (roughly translated):

Great psychedelic mass: The 20 years of the Rocket Recordings label at the Garage!
To celebrate its 20th birthday, the English label Rocket Recordings organized on March 9th, 10th and 11th three nights of concerts bringing together the bands of the label for a great psychedelic mass.

Friday, March 9
The Flowers Must Die formation returned the honor of opening hostilities, with a space rock with oriental influences. The pieces unfold like mantras and take us directly into another dimension. 

We then climb to the bar area at the top of the room to witness Ahrkh's sound experiments . Leaning on his machines, the member of the GNOD collective gives us a more experimental set. His mastery of overtone singing on ambient music completes us into other spheres.

Julie's Haircut takes over on stage. Although the music is quality we are slightly less carried away. The fault with technical problems that seem to frustrate the group, and we also at the same time...

See the full piece here: White Lodge


25 Apr 2018

Gigwise say some words on Negra Branca's remix of Lay Llamas

They say:

Remember the other week when we took our sanity in our hands and recommended you listen to Lay Llamas’ new single ‘Silver Sun’? A “grainy garage rock” epic, we said, including bits that sounded like Super Furry Animals playing a gig in a rainforest and a saxophonist having paroxysms?

Well, apparently, Lay Llamas mainman Nicola Giunta mustn’t have thought this was wild-ass enough. So the Italian psych-pop maestro got Negra Branca – aka Gnod soundscapist Marlene Ribiero – to hammer away at it for her ‘Red Sun Remix’, and the results are, fittingly, scorch-hot. It opens with some rainforest-at-dawn electronic mating calls, through which ventures an adventurous saxophonist, hunting for rare breeds of insecticide jazz. Then those drone basslines kick in and the whole thing dives deep underwater like a krautrock The Life Aquatic. Is that a school of mephedrone sharks sweeping by? Is that a nagging madsaxjazz fish spraying its poison? And is that a choir of mermaids intoning “red sun, green sun” from a coral reef perch? Or have we had way too much of whatever Ribiero’s on?

Let Giunta explain. “I was so surprised by [Negra Branca’s] different sonic and performing mood compared to her GNOD one. Her layering of female voice melodies on dubby rhythmic patterns mixed with foggy synth sounds, samples and other weird stuff. It reminds me so much of some stuff from the first Lay Llamas debut tape - that same 'space jungle mantra' atmosphere but led by female magic singing. She accelerated that 'space jungle' to land it on a 'space highway'... at lightspeed.”

Well quite. But don’t just take us nutters’ word for it – listen to the track yourself 

See the whole piece here: Gigwise